CALIFORNIA RESPONSIBLE BEVERAGE SERVER (RBS) TRAINING

Join over 5.5 million TIPS-certified alcohol sellers/servers and get your California RBS certification online today!

With over 40 years of experience, TIPS ensures that you receive training on the regulations and guidelines that affect you in your role. TIPS sellers/servers are professionals and create a safer environment where alcohol is served and sold.

View Regulations View Other States

Select Course
  • On-Premise
  • On-Premise
  • On-Premise
TIPS California RBS Training Program
TIPS B2C Course Type On-Premise
TIPS California RBS Training Program
Premium alcohol training for everyone from bartenders to security guards.

This course includes dynamic and skills-based training to prepare you for the exam taken on the California RBS Portal. It is approved by the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control for serving alcohol in the state, and certification lasts for three years.

TIPS California RBS Training Program + Food Handler
TIPS B2C Course Type On-Premise
TIPS California RBS Training Program + Food Handler
Meet state RBS regulations AND train for your food handler card.

This package contains our California Responsible Beverage Server Training Program bundled with our ANAB-accredited Food Handler Training. Learn state guidelines PLUS effective workplace strategies.

TIPS California RBS Training Program + San Diego County Food Handler
TIPS B2C Course Type On-Premise
TIPS California RBS Training Program + San Diego County Food Handler
Learn regulations to obtain alcohol server, RBS and food handler certifications.

This package contains our TIPS California Responsible Beverage Server Training bundled with our San Diego County Food Handler Training. Learn state guidelines PLUS effective workplace strategies.

Loading...
Not interested in online learning?

Find classroom courses near you.

Find Classrooms

State Agency

California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

icon-address

3927 Lennane Dr
Suite 100
Sacramento, CA 95834

icon-phone
(916) 419-2500
icon-web
abc.ca.gov
Alcohol Server Training Law

Mandatory
The state requires approved alcohol server/seller training in some capacity

Approved TIPS Programs

Classroom: On-Premise, Off-Premise, Concessions, Gaming, and University
Online: On-Premise

Requirements

RBS training is mandatory in the state of California as of July 1st, 2022 for anyone who serves alcohol by the drink, managers, and ID checkers

Length of Certification

TIPS Certification is valid for 3 years

State Laws & Regulations to be Aware of:

State Laws & Regulations to be Aware of:

Age to Consume

21

Age to Pour

21

Dram Shop Liability Laws

No

Age to Serve

21

Age to Sell 

18, but an off-sale licensee may employ a person under the age of 18 if that person is under the continuous supervision of a person 21 years of age or older.

Gasoline/petroleum stations with convenience stores that sell beer and wine for off-premises consumption may only employ persons over the age of 21 between the hours of 10:00 pm and 2:00 am.

Acceptable Forms of ID 

Documentary Evidence of Age and Identity:

To be suitable as evidence for defense, the identification card must be issued by a governmental agency and have a current description and a picture of the person presenting it which reasonably describes the person as to date of birth, weight, height, sex, and color of eyes and hair. No defense will exist if the card has obviously been altered or has expired.

In the event an Armed Forces identification card, Passport, or Passport Card is provided as proof of identity and lacks a physical description, but does include a date of birth and a photo, further proof of identity shall not be required.

A registration certificate issued under the Federal Selective Service Act is no longer considered documentary evidence of age, identity, and date of birth.

Green cards and International Driver's Licenses are NOT acceptable forms of ID.

Notes on Selling or Serving 

The sale of alcoholic beverages at self-service checkout stands in all format retail stores is prohibited.

Age to Serve

The minimum age for serving alcoholic beverages is 21, except any person between 18 and 21 years of age employed in any bona fide public eating place, which is licensed for the on-sale of alcoholic beverages, may serve alcoholic beverages to consumers only if such service occurs in an area primarily designed and used for the sale and service of food for consumption on the premises, and the primary duties of the employee shall be the service of meals to guests, with the service of alcoholic beverages being incidental to such duties.

All hotel/motel/etc. employees handling the alcoholic beverages to be placed in the controlled access alcoholic beverage cabinet in any guestroom, including, but not limited to, any employee who inventories or restocks and replenishes the alcoholic beverages in the controlled access alcoholic beverage cabinet, must be at least 21 years of age.

Dram Shop Liability Laws

There is no Dram Shop Liability in California, except when alcohol is served, sold, or otherwise provided to an obviously intoxicated minor. In such a case the server, seller, or provider may be held liable for damages.

FAQs FOR CALIFORNIA

How do I get my RBS certification?


What certification do I need to serve alcohol in California?


Is TIPS training required in California?


How many days upon employment is a California Responsible Beverage Service training certification required?


What is RBS training?


How long is RBS certification good for?


Who has to be RBS certified?


TIPS_B2C_Trainer-Page_History-v3

NEED TRAINING FOR YOUR EMPLOYEES?

SEE SOLUTIONS

WHY CHOOSE TIPS?

Why choose tips 1

Pioneer In Alcohol Saftey

Originally introduced in 1982, TIPS On-Premise was developed by professionals in the fields of alcohol abuse, adult education, hospitality, and psychology as a tool to teach servers and bartenders to prevent alcohol abuse among customers. This radical strategy to teach servers and bartenders standard practices for the service of alcohol and how to look for signs of intoxication became the industry standard.

Very soon, TIPS met industry requests for programs tailored to other environments with specific scenes and strategies for those industries. Today, TIPS offers courses specific to On-Premise, Off-Premise, Delivery, Gaming, Concessions, and University.

Whether required by law in your state or not, alcohol server and seller training helps you identify and prevent alcoholic beverages from getting in the hands of minors or intoxicated persons. TIPS is trusted to provide training that goes deeper into situations than just covering regulations or BAC. TIPS develops your "people skills" for handling specific situations and maintain a safe environment.


Why choose tips 2

Robust Training Experience

TIPS is more than any general alcohol safety training available. It's an immersive training experience.

TIPS online courses have an outstanding quality of content, easy-to-understand modules, and helpful reinforcement quizzes. TIPS is designed to empower individuals to use their people skills to positively influence their guests' drinking behavior and to help individuals feel confident to intervene in situations that might be uncomfortable or a safety risk.

All of this to make learning and retaining knowledge about safely selling and serving alcohol as relatable as possible.


Why choose tips 3

The TIPS Advantage

Not only will you learn skills for handing situations, you'll become better at your job and in turn be a more attractive candidate. PLUS TIPS offers you protections:

  • The insurance industry discounts liquor liability premiums up to 25% for TIPS-certified clients.
  • Courts recognize TIPS as the standard for server training programs.
  • Liquor boards mitigate fines and penalties for violators who incorporate TIPS training at their establishments.
  • And hotels, restaurants, and bars across the country reap the benefits of more professional wait staff and more satisfied customers.

NEED TO REDEEM YOUR PASSPORT?

REDEEM HERE