The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Illinois

Alcohol Server Training Law Mandatory
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Off Premise, Gaming, Concessions, and University
Online: On Premise and Off Premise
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops. Training supplemental material is required.
State Agency Illinois Liquor Control Commission BASSET
Requirements Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) is the State of Illinois' mandatory responsible beverage seller/server program. TIPS is an approved BASSET training provider. By successfully completing a TIPS or eTIPS course, you will receive a dual certification (TIPS and BASSET) For more information about BASSET .
Certification Both your BASSET and TIPS Certification are valid for 3 years.
Age to consume 21
Age to pour Set by local ordinance. If no ordinance exists the minimum age is 18.
Age to Sell Set by local ordinance. If no ordinance exists the minimum age is 18.
Age to Serve Set by local ordinance. If no ordinance exists the minimum age is 18. (21 in Jacksonville)
Notes on Selling or Serving Age to Serve and Age to Pour are set by local ordinance. If no ordinance exists the minimum age is 18.
Dram Shop Liability Laws Yes
Acceptable Forms of ID

Adequate proof of age and identity of an individual in Illinois is a document issued by a federal, state, county or municipal government including, but not limited to, a driver’s license, selective service card or an Armed Services identification card.

NOTE: Illinois Driver Services will no longer be issuing a permanent Driver's License or ID card when one applies for these. Applicants will be issued a 45-day temporary paper License or ID. This is a valid form of identification, but some establishments may have certain policies as to whether or not they will accept this form of ID. A second form of ID may be required.

Proof that written identification was demanded, shown and reasonably relied upon may be used as a defense in criminal and/or license revocation proceedings unless the identification shown was known by the licensee to be fraudulent when shown.