The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Indiana

Alcohol Server Training Law Mandatory
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Off Premise, Gaming, Concessions, and University
Online: On Premise, Off Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops. All trainers are required to participate in an ATC trainer course conducted by Indiana State Excise Police in order to obtain a state trainer permit.
State Agency Indiana Alcohol & Tobacco Commission
Requirements TIPS Classroom and eTIPS Online are acceptable training programs. Servers and sellers are required to hold an Employee Permit to dispense alcoholic beverages in Indiana. To accomplish this, successfully complete a TIPS course/exam and apply for a permit at https://www.in.gov/atc/2641.htm.
Certification TIPS Certification is valid for 3 years.
Age to consume 21
Age to pour 21
Age to Sell 19 - must complete alcohol server training and apply with state.
Age to Serve 21 - 19 and 20 year-olds may serve with a restricted permit.
Notes on Selling or Serving Server training is mandatory for anyone who serves or sells alcohol. Classroom and online training are approved by the ATC.
Dram Shop Liability Laws Yes
Acceptable Forms of ID A driver's license from any state. An Indiana state identification card. A state identification card from any other state. A government document showing the holder to be at least 21 years of age with a birth date and a photo. Carding is required for anyone purchasing an alcoholic beverage at an off-premise establishment. Employees who fail to card can be charged with a misdemeanor. This law does not apply to on-premise establishments.