The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Louisiana

Alcohol Server Training Law Mandatory
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Off Premise, Gaming, and Concessions
Online: On Premise and Off Premise
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops. Prior to training, trainers must apply with the ATC through the ATC portal. A ten-day advance notice must be given for all classroom sessions, and a class roster must be submitted after the session is held through the ATC's trainer portal.
State Agency Louisiana Office of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC)
Requirements The Louisiana Responsible Vendor Program requires “any employee of a vendor who is authorized to sell or serve alcoholic beverages or tobacco products in the normal course of his or her employment or deals with customers who purchase or consume alcoholic beverages or tobacco products” must attend an RV Class and obtain an RV Server Permit within 45 days of their hire date.
Certification Certification is valid for 4 years.
Age to consume 21
Age to pour 18
Age to Sell 18
Age to Serve 18
Notes on Selling or Serving Legal age to sell can be under 18 if properly supervised and alcohol is packaged for off premise consumption. Where drive-thru daiquiri locations are legally permitted, drivers cannot drink the daiquiris in the car while driving. All daiquiris purchased through drive-thru locations should remain in the container, with a lid, sealed (straw should not be in the glass). No one should consume the daiquiris in the vehicle for any reason.
Dram Shop Liability Laws No
Acceptable Forms of ID Any state driver's license, Louisiana special identification card, visa, military ID, passport or US passport card.