The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Maryland

Alcohol Server Training Law Mandatory
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Off Premise, and Concessions
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops. MD Trainers must obtain the Comptroller of MD Alcohol Awareness Trainer Permit annually for a cost of $5.
State Agency Comptroller of Maryland
Requirements Training is required by at least one manager on duty at establishments in every county.
Certification Certification is valid for 4 years.
Age to consume 21
Age to pour The state law is 18 for wine and beer, 21 for liquor or a Class D license.

In Baltimore City, a licensee may employ a person 18 years of age or older to sell, serve, deliver or otherwise deal with alcoholic beverages.

In Cecil County, a licensee may employ a person 18 years of age or older to sell, serve, deliver or otherwise deal with alcoholic beverages.

In Washington County, a licensee may employ a person 18 years of age or older to sell, serve, deliver or otherwise deal with alcoholic beverages.
Age to Sell The state law is 18 for beer and wine, 21 for liquor/package store sales.

Anne Arundel County is twenty-one for all point-of-sales for alcohol. A licensee may employ a person age 16 year or older to stock alcoholic beverages.

In Baltimore City, a licensee may employ a person 18 years of age or older to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages.

In Cecil County, a licensee may employ a person 18 years or older to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages.

In Frederick County, a licensee may employ a person 18 years or older to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages. A licensee may employ a person age 14 years or older to perform any other task than to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages.

In Garrett County, a licensee may not employ a person under the age of 21 years old to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages.

In Kent County, a person under the age of 21 may not be employed to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages.

In Prince George's County, a licensee may employ a person 18 years or older to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages to the holder of any Class A (off-sale) license; Class B (on-sale) license; and Class C (on-sale) beer, wine and liquor license.

In Queen Anne's County, a person under the age of 21 may not be employed to sell or deliver alcoholic beverage to the holder of any Class A (off-sale) license; Class B (on-sale) license; and Class C (on-sale) beer, wine and liquor license.

In Washington County, a licensee may employ a person 18 years or older to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages. A licensee may employ a person age 16 years or older to perform any other task than to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages.
Age to Serve State law is 18 for beer/wine; 21 for liquor or Class D license.

In Baltimore City, a licensee may employ a person 18 years of age or older to serve or otherwise deal with alcoholic beverages.

In Cecil County, a licensee may employ a person 18 years or older to serve or otherwise deal with alcoholic beverages.

In Washington County, a licensee may employ a person 18 years or older to sell or deliver alcoholic beverages.
Notes on Selling or Serving Local counties are given the authority by the State to establish their own liquor laws, so check with your local jurisdiction to confirm laws.
Dram Shop Liability Laws No
Acceptable Forms of ID Any state driver's license with photo, military ID, US passport or passport card, state-issued ID card with photo, or U.S. Territory card. Retailers may use their discretion when fraud is suspected.