The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Michigan

Alcohol Server Training Law Mandatory
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Online: On Premise, Off Premise,Concessions, and Gaming
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops.
State Agency Michigan Liquor Control Commission
Requirements N/A
Certification TIPS Certification is valid for 3 years.
Age to consume 21
Age to pour 18
Age to Sell 18
Age to Serve 18
Notes on Selling or Serving Since 2001, the MLCC has required alcohol server training for licensees obtaining new on premise licenses or transferring more than 50% interest in existing on premise licenses. TIPS was one of the first approved alcohol server training programs in Michigan. Prior to 2014, the only way to obtain MLCC-approved certification was through classroom sessions conducted by certified TIPS trainers. In 2014, eTIPS online alcohol training was approved by the MLCC.
Dram Shop Liability Laws On/at a licensed premises: A licensee, clerk, agent or employee shall not be charged with a violation for serving a minor at a licensed premises if the employee made a diligent inquiry to determine the patron's age. If diligent inquiry was not made, the licensee/clerk/employee can be held liable for failing to act with due diligence and failing to take immediate corrective action.

“Diligent inquiry” means a careful, good faith effort to determine the age of a person, which includes at least an examination of an official Michigan operator's or chauffeur's license, an official Michigan personal identification card, a military identification card, or any other bona fide picture identification which establishes the identity and age of the person.

Any seller or server of beverage alcohol who fails to make a "Diligent Inquiry" as to whether or not the recipient of alcohol is a minor can be found guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and 60 days imprisonment, license suspension or revocation.

An individual or family member who suffers damage or who is personally injured by a visibly intoxicated person (by reason of the unlawful selling, giving, or furnishing of beverage alcohol to the visibly intoxicated person, if the unlawful sale is proven to be a proximate cause of the damage, injury or death) shall have a right of action against the person who served or sold the alcohol to the intoxicated person who caused the damage.

Not on/at a licensed premises: If found to have furnished alcohol to a minor, and the subsequent consumption of the alcohol by the minor is a direct and substantial cause of a person's death or accidental injury that causes a person's death, then the person who furnished the alcohol can be found guilty of a felony. Punishment can include a fine of up to $5,000 or imprisonment of up to ten (10) years, or both.
Acceptable Forms of ID "Diligent inquiry” means a careful, good faith effort to determine the age of a person, which includes at least an examination of an official Michigan operator's or chauffeur's license, an official Michigan personal identification card, a military identification card, or any other bona fide picture identification which establishes the identity and age of the person. Any seller or server of beverage alcohol who fails to make a "diligent inquiry" as to whether or not the recipient of the alcohol is a minor can be found guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and 60 days imprisonment.