The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Minnesota

Alcohol Server Training Law Non-Regulated
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Off Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Online: On Premise, Off Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops.
State Agency Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement
Requirements N/A
Certification TIPS Certification is valid for 3 years.
Age to consume 21
Age to pour 18
Age to Sell 18
Age to Serve 18
Notes on Selling or Serving With respect to purchasing, possessing, consuming, selling, furnishing, and serving alcoholic beverages, a person is not considered 21 years of age until 8:00 AM on the date of that person's 21st birthday.
Dram Shop Liability Laws Yes
Acceptable Forms of ID Proof of Age, Defense

Proof of age for purchasing or consuming alcoholic beverages may be established only by one of the following:
  1. A valid driver’s license issued by Minnesota, another state or Canada and including the photograph and date of birth of the person;
  2. A valid identification card issued by Minnesota, another state or Canada and including the photograph and date of birth of the person;
  3. A valid military I.D. issued by the U.S. Dept. of Defense;
  4. A valid passport issued by the United States or a foreign country
  5. A MN Tribal card which includes a photo, date of birth and expiration date;
  6. Valid Instructional Permit (with photo and date of birth).
In a prosecution for a sale to a person under 21, it is a defense to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the seller reasonably and in good faith relied upon representations of proof of age authorized above in selling or giving the alcohol.