|Alcohol Server Training Law||Mandatory|
|Approved TIPS Programs||Classroom: On Premise, Off Premise, Gaming, and Concessions
Online: eTIPS meets the alcohol server/seller training requirements set forth by the Montana Department of Revenue.
|Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer?||Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops.|
|State Agency||Montana Department of Revenue|
|Requirements||Training is mandatory for anyone who serves or sells alcohol.|
|Certification||Certification is valid for 3 years.|
|Age to consume||21|
|Age to pour||18|
|Age to Sell||As allowed by state and federal labor laws|
|Age to Serve||To serve an open container is 18|
|Notes on Selling or Serving||N/A|
|Dram Shop Liability Laws||Yes, with exceptions:
Furnishing a person with an alcoholic beverage is not a cause of, or grounds for finding the furnishing person or entity liable for injury or damage wholly or partly arising from an event involving the person who consumed the beverage unless:
(a) the consumer was under the legal drinking age and the furnishing person knew that the consumer was underage or did not make a reasonable attempt to determine the consumer's age;
(b) the consumer was visibly intoxicated; or
(c) the furnishing person forced or coerced the consumption or told the consumer that the beverage contained no alcohol.
A jury or trier of fact may consider the consumption of an alcoholic beverage in addition to the sale, service, or provision of the alcoholic beverage in determining the cause of injuries or damages inflicted upon another by the consumer.
A civil action may not be brought pursuant to subsection (3) by the consumer or by the consumer's estate, legal guardian, or dependent unless:
(a) the consumer was under the legal age and the furnishing person knew or should have known that the consumer was under age; or
(b) the furnishing person forced or coerced the consumption or told the consumer that the beverage contained no alcohol while knowing that it did contain alcohol.
A civil action may not be commenced under this section against a person who furnished alcohol unless the person bringing the civil action provides notice of an intent to file the action to the person who furnished the alcohol by certified mail within 180 days from the date of sale or service. The civil action must be commenced pursuant to this section within 2 years after the sale or service.
In any civil action brought pursuant to this section, the total liability for non-economic damages may not exceed $250,000.
In any civil action brought pursuant to this section, the total liability for punitive damages may not exceed $250,000.
|Acceptable Forms of ID||Any form of a government-issued ID can be accepted. The most common forms used in Montana: