|Alcohol Server Training Law||Mandatory|
|Approved TIPS Programs||Classroom: On Premise
Online: eTIPS is approved by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC).
|Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer?||Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops.|
|State Agency||Oregon Liquor Control Commission|
|Requirements||Training is mandatory for all on-premise employees.|
|Certification||Certification is valid for 3 years.|
|Age to consume||21|
|Age to pour||21|
|Age to Sell||18|
|Age to Serve||18|
|Notes on Selling or Serving||(1)The holder of an on-premise license may employ persons 18, 19 and 20 years of age who may take orders for, serve and sell alcoholic liquor in any part of the licensed premises when that activity is incidental to the serving of food except in those areas classified by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission as being prohibited to the use of minors. However, no person who is 18, 19 or 20 years of age shall be permitted to mix, pour or draw alcoholic liquor except when pouring is done as a service to the patron at the patron’s table or drawing is done in a portion of the premises not prohibited to minors.
(2) A person who is 18, 19 or 20 years of age may enter areas classified by the commission as being prohibited to the use of minors only for the purpose of ordering and picking up alcoholic liquor for service in other parts of the premises. However, the person shall not remain in the areas longer than is necessary to perform those duties.
(3) The commission by rule may permit access to prohibited areas by any minor for nonalcoholic liquor employment purposes as long as the minor does not remain longer than is necessary to perform the duties. (Oregon Revised Statutes 471.482)
(4) Establishments may not sell or serve alcohol to anyone who is visibly intoxicated, whether the customer is driving or not.
|Dram Shop Liability Laws||Yes|
|Acceptable Forms of ID||Oregon law accepts only the following forms of identification alone as proof of age:
Beware of mail order ID cards that say "State Resident" or "Personal ID." These cards are made to look like official IDs, but they are not. If you can't tell whether the card was issued officially by a state, don't accept it.
In Oregon, customers without stand-alone ID may prove their age using two pieces of alternative identification in combination with an OLCC Statement of Age card. Businesses are not required to accept this type of ID, and most do not because of the extra work it involves. Check with your manager. The first piece of Alternative ID must be an official ID with the person's name, address, date of birth, signature, and photo or physical description. Examples of descriptive ID are:
A federal employee ID card, a concealed weapons permit, or a college student body card.
The second piece of Alternative ID must be further the person's identity. Examples of supportive ID are: a credit card, personalized checks, mail addressed to the person, etc. If you accept alternative ID, you must complete an OLCC Statement of Age card. This is not an option, it is a legal requirement.