The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

South Dakota

Alcohol Server Training Law Voluntary
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Off Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Online: On Premise, Off Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops.
State Agency South Dakota Department of Revenue
Requirements N/A
Certification TIPS Certification is valid for 3 years.
Age to consume 21. A person under the age of 21 may consume alcohol outside of a retail establishment if they are in the presence of a parent, guardian or spouse who is at least 21 years of age. A person between the ages of 18 and 20 may consume alcohol in an on-premise establishment if they are in the immediate presence of a parent, guardian or spouse who is at least 21 years of age.
Age to pour 21
Age to Sell 18 to sell so long as alcohol sales constitute less than 50% of total sales. 21 otherwise.
Age to Serve 18 if less than 50% of total sales are from alcohol; the establishment has an on-sale license, and an employee or the retailer who is at least 21 is on the premises.
Notes on Selling or Serving While server/seller training is not mandatory, approved training can cut civil penalties in half for licensees whose clerks sell alcohol to minors for the first or second offense within a 24-month period.
Dram Shop Liability Laws No. The Legislature finds that the consumption of alcoholic beverages, rather than the serving of alcoholic beverages, is the proximate cause of any injury inflicted upon another by an intoxicated person. No licensee is civilly liable to any injured person or the injured person's estate for any injury suffered, including any action for wrongful death, or property damage suffered because of the sale or consumption of any alcoholic beverage.
Acceptable Forms of ID Any person charged with a violation of 35-9-1 or 35-9-1.1 may offer evidence, as a defense, that the person made a reasonable attempt to investigate the age of the person by examining an age-bearing identification document that would have appeared valid to a reasonable and prudent person. It is not required for someone to have an identification card on their person to be served alcohol.