The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Texas

Alcohol Server Training Law Voluntary
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Off Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Online: On Premise, Off Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops.
State Agency Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission
Requirements Texas has a voluntary TABC training. TIPS is not currently a provider of this program. Employees can take the TIPS programs in lieu of the TABC training.
Certification TIPS Certification is valid for 3 years.
Age to consume 21
Age to pour 18
Age to Sell 16 for a wine only package store; no requirements for off-premise beer only or wine/beer off-premise permits; 21 for all liquor package stores
Age to Serve 18
Notes on Selling or Serving An on-premises retailer who also holds a TABC-issued Food and Beverage Certificate may employ persons under the age of 18 as cashiers and allow these underage cashiers to "ring up" alcoholic beverage sales so long as the person who serves the beverage to the customer is 18 years of age or older.
Dram Shop Liability Laws Yes
Acceptable Forms of ID Any photo-ID issued by a U.S. state or the federal government. U.S. Passports are acceptable. Foreign Passports and IDs are not acceptable. It is not required that someone have an identification card on their person in order to be served alcohol.