The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Washington

Alcohol Server Training Law Mandatory
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise, Concessions, and Gaming
Online: On Premise
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops. Prior to training, trainers must apply to become a trainer with the WSLCB. There is an application, background check, LCB webinar, and separate exam. This process can take 30-60 days. Trainers cannot train in WA until this process is complete. The state exam is administered in place of the regular TIPS exam.
State Agency Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB)
Requirements Mandatory Alcohol Server Training (MAST) is required by law for persons who serve, mix, sell, or who supervise the sale of alcohol for on-premises consumption at liquor licensed establishment. TIPS is an approved third-party provider of MAST training. TIPS offers MAST training via the classroom conducted by WSLCB/TIPS certified trainers and online via eTIPS.
Certification Upon successful completion of the TIPS course participants will receive a both a TIPS Certification and Class 12 /13 permit based upon age. You will receive a Class 12 permit if you are 21 years of age or older or a Class 13 if you are between the ages of 18 to 21. The MAST permit is vaild for five (5) years and TIPS Certification is valid for three (3) years.
Age to consume 21 at licensed premises. 18 year olds may taste and spit out samples of alcohol if they are students of a culinary or alcohol-technology degree program.
Age to pour At least 21. 18-20 year-olds may pour at a customer's table in the dining room portion of an establishment. A restaurant with less than 15% dedicated dining may not employ a minor at any time.
Age to Sell At least 21. 18-20 year-olds may sell only under the supervision of a person 21 years or older. A restaurant with less than 15% dedicated dining may not employ a minor at any time.
Age to Serve At least 21. 18-20 year-olds may serve only under the supervision of a person 21 years or older. A restaurant with less than 15% dedicated dining may not employ a minor at any time.
Notes on Selling or Serving Per state law, no person shall sell any liquor to any person apparently under the influence of liquor. No person who appears to be under the influence of alcohol may purchase or consume liquor on any premises licensed by the state.
Dram Shop Liability Laws WA has Third Party Liability laws.
Acceptable Forms of ID Washington accepts the following forms of valid identification when checking legal age:
  • Driver's License or ID card issued by any US state, the District of Columbia, U.S. Territory, or Canadian province. A paper temporary license may be accepted as long as it isn’t expired and show date of birth, signature and the photo. Some of the newer temporary licenses do not show photos and they aren’t valid.
  • Military ID
  • Passport from any nation
  • Merchant Marine ID
  • Washington State Tribal Enrollment Card (no expiration date required).