The Global Leader in
Alcohol Server and Seller Training

Wisconsin

Alcohol Server Training Law Mandatory
Recommended Course
Approved TIPS Programs Classroom: On Premise and Off Premise
Online: On Premise and Off Premise
Can I become a Certified TIPS Trainer? Yes. Browse upcoming train-the-trainer workshops.
State Agency Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Requirements Wisconsin requires servers and sellers of alcohol to be trained.
Certification Certification is valid for 2 years.
Age to consume The legal drinking age in Wisconsin is 21. However, persons under age 21 may possess and consume alcohol beverages if they are with their parents, guardians or spouses of legal drinking age at the discretion of the licensee. The licensed premise may choose to prohibit consumption and possession of alcohol beverages by underage persons.
Age to pour 18
Age to Sell 18
Age to Serve 18
Notes on Selling or Serving Refer to WI Department of Revenue Publication 302 for detailed information.
Dram Shop Liability Laws There is no Dram Shop Liability in WI. Per WI Statute 125.035(2) "A person is immune from civil liability arising out of the act of procuring alcohol beverages for or selling, dispensing or giving away alcohol beverages to another person."

However, you can be held civilly liable in one of the following three situations:
  1. The person procuring, selling, dispensing or giving away alcohol beverages causes another person to consume alcohol by force;
  2. The person procuring, selling, dispensing or giving away alcohol beverages causes another person to consume alcohol by representing that the beverage they are serving contains no alcohol; or
  3. The provider of alcohol beverages knew or should have known that the person they sold alcohol to was under the legal drinking age, and if the beverages provided to the underage person were a substantial factor in causing injury to a 3rd party. If you serve a minor and damage is caused, you may be convicted of a felony, punishable by up to $10,000 in fines and 7 1/2 years in jail.
See more at: http://statutes.laws.com/wisconsin/125/125.035
Acceptable Forms of ID If a person appears to be underage and is not accompanied by a parent/guardian or spouse, WI law requires that you demand proof of age.

Any valid form of Government ID is acceptable.